Via Roma, 6-071 722 781
Its ancient history is among the least known of the Region. The oldest remains, found in systematic excavations in 1911-12, showing the presence of an ancient civilization capannicola Bronze Age. These overlapped a “Statio” founded by the Gauls in the third century BC When the Romans occupied the Piceno (268 BC) crebe a military garrison, who later became an important Roman colony under the name of Veragra. Pliny the Elder includes the Roman colony of Veragra between the cities located in the middle of the Piceno. The name is Filottrano fate back in Mons Filiorum Octrani (Optrani, Ottrani).
The first document which states the name is of 1187. Today it is reasonable to assume that the city was built around 1000 and was named after the children of a Ottrano (strain of Lombard), a character known and important in his time throughout the Brand, as evidenced by the records Farfensi. Filottrano in 1530 he published his “statutes” to regulate the civil growth of its people. These years are the most important civil and religious buildings. Pope Pius VI in 1790 elected to the town, changing its name from “Mons Filiorum Octrani” current Filottrano. In 1808 the Marches were annexed to the Kingdom of Italy by Napoleon. In 1860 he became part of the Kingdom of Italy under Victor Emmanuel II.
Museum Biroccio Marche
Born in 1967 on the initiative of Glauco Luchetti who collected paintings wagons Marche (drays) are key in farming in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The cars weigh about four tons and are made of elm wood with parts in walnut, oak and acacia. The paintings have vibrant colors and styles are different from one area to another.
Museum of Farming
Established in 1995 is housed in the former Monastery of St. Clare. It ‘a private collection recently enriched by interesting ethnographic artifacts.