City of Piobbico
Viale dei Caduti , 2-0722 986 225
The town was built at the dawn of the year 1000 on a more ancient settlement romanodenominato Publicum and from the twelfth century it became a feud of Brancaleoni powerful family that later extended his domination over the entire mass Trabaria.
Towards the beginning of their dominion the Brancaleoni abandoned their former residence and began the construction of today’s residential building who completed after seven centuries. In full Renaissance, certainly also for the wonderful influence of Urbino, which also was part Piobbico, the Brancaleoni wanted to transform their fortress-residence, taking away the character grim and stern of the fort. Thus, the architect Girolamo Genga from Urbino and his son Bartolomeo, while not completely solve the footprint of the old castle complex conferred to the air of beautiful home Renaissance civil.
To underline, in the interior façade of the Clock Tower, the dial reversed with the movement of the hands counterclockwise, almost unique.
Castle Brancaleoni (sec. XII – XVIII) with more than 130 rooms, stucco Brandani, a Deposition, a Nativity and the Temple of St. Charles. Inside the Museum Geopaleontologico – Nature – Anthropic.
Museum Geopaleontologico – Nature – Anthropic displays over 5,000 fossils of Monte Nerone including the only prehistoric bear (Ursus Spalaesus) found in central Italy. The fossils are dated between 2 and 200 million years.
The picturesque town assembly of buildings around the castle, a few years given a new life with a careful restoration.
Sanctuary of S. Maria in Val d’Abyss inside “The Assumption” of Raffellin Del Collee other valuable paintings of the ‘500.
St. Stephen’s Church inside with “The rest of the S: Family” and works by Federico Barocci Barocci and Zuccari school.